Tennessee Housing Unit Review: Priority Communities (2023)

There are nearly 450 sub-county areas in Tennessee for which the number of new housing units are reported each year. These include the unincorporated parts of the state's 95 counties and about 350 municipalities. Those annual housing inventory changes are critical for <u>maintaining</u> <u>accurate subcounty population estimates</u>.

The number of housing unit additions in an area are created through estimates derived from the Building Permit Survey. For many areas, these estimates do not require modification because the number of permits authorizing new dwelling construction is accurate.

But there are about 64 areas of the state where population estimates could be improved by verifying the accuracy of the reported estimates or by providing additional information to the State Data Centers via the <u>Housing Unit Review</u> program.

Imputed Permits

If a community's reports are missing or incomplete, the <u>number of new housing units may be</u> <u>estimated (imputed)</u> based on activity in recent years and southeast U.S. trends. This can result in *significant* underestimation or overestimation of building activity.

How to check

The <u>TNSDC Building Permit Dashboard</u> reports the number of imputed housing units in a community by year. If no data is shown or the units are imputed, its possible permits activity was not reported.

Place Name	Total Imputed Permits (2020-2022)
Chattanooga	3,541
Nolensville town	1,787
Cookeville	634
Alcoa	528
La Vergne	363
Jackson	352
Winchester	335
Oak Ridge	288
Atoka town	279
Oakland town	224
Smithville	186
Martin	94

Table 1: Municipalities with more than 50 imputed permits since 2020



Burns town	93
Hohenwald	90
Paris	80
Jasper town	79
Bristol	70
Mount Juliet	69
Townsend	68
Kimball town	56
Sweetwater	56

Table 2: Unincorporated County Areas with more than 50 imputed permits since 2020

Place Name	Total Imputed Permits (2020-2022)	
Campbell County	971	
Polk County	866	
Marshall County	825	
White County	656	
Carter County	614	
Roane County	514	
Hawkins County	510	
Giles County	456	
DeKalb County	334	
Jefferson County	269	
Grainger County	259	
Warren County	191	
Madison County	190	
Franklin County	107	
Dickson County	102	
Shelby County	98	
Clay County	95	
Macon County	64	
Blount County	61	

Multi-county Jurisdictions

Because the BPS does not capture the distribution of new housing units among the two counties, the Census Bureau assigns a share of the municipality's new housing units to each county based on the proportions reported in the 2020 Census.



Name	Total Permits (2020-2022)
Spring Hill	2208
Goodlettsville	271
White House	672

Multijurisdictional Permit Offices

Because the precise distribution of new housing across governmental units in a multijurisdictional BPS report is unknown, it is estimated for all areas based on the proportion of housing units in each area from the 2020 Census.

Place Name	Footnote	Permits
Nashville-Davidson	Covers the entire unincorporated area of the county, and the portion of Ridgetop city located in Davidson County.	32,028
Hamilton County Unincorporated Area	Covers Ridgeside and Walden	5,671
Wilson County Unincorporated Area	Covers Watertown.	5,198
Shelby County Unincorporated Area	Covers Germantown, Lakeland, Memphis and Millington and Arlington	4,251
Loudon County Unincorporated Area	Covers Greenback and Philadelphia	1,714
Robertson County Unincorporated Area	Covers Adams and Orlinda	1,451
Putnam County Unincorporated Area	Covers Monterey	1,310
Bradley County Unincorporated Area	Covers Charleston	1,182
Dickson County Unincorporated Area	Covers Charlotte	1,170
Crossville	Covers Cumberland County Unincorporated Area.	1,021
Madison County Unincorporated Area	Covers Medon and Three Way	606
Tipton County Unincorporated Area	Covers Gilt Edge and Garland	539
Marshall County	Permit system now covers the entire county, including the portion of Petersburg located in Marshall County.	465
Warren County Unincorporated Area	Covers Centertown, Morrison, and Viola	457
Roane County Unincorporated Area	Covers Harriman (including the portion in Morgan County), Kingston city, and Oliver Springs (including the portions in Anderson and Morgan Counties)	372
Lincoln County Unincorporated Area	Covers the portion of Petersburg located in Lincoln County	341



Macon County Unincorporated Area	Covers Lafayette city	326
Rhea County Unincorporated Area	Covers Spring City	276
Union County Unincorporated Area	Covers Plainview and Luttrell	244
Newbern town	Covers the portion of Trimble located in Dyer County	144

More Information

Local government officials interested in learning more about the Housing Unit Review or who wish to request the Housing Unit Component of Change materials can contact the State Data Center:

Tim Kuhn

Tennessee State Data Center Boyd Center for Business and Economic Research University of Tennessee

713 Stokely Management Center 916 Volunteer Blvd. Knoxville, TN 37996

tkuhn@utk.edu | (865) 974-6070

